Public Sector equality objectives

To help us deliver our policy and meet our duties, we are:


  • promoting equal opportunity for all
  • opposing all forms of discrimination, intolerance and disadvantage by reducing inequalities that limit people’s life chances
  • making sure our workforce reflects the diverse communities of Waltham Forest at all levels
  • providing inclusive, accessible and excellent services to all


Our policy statement applies to all nine protected equality characteristics under the Equality Act 2010:

  • age
  • disability
  • gender reassignment
  • marriage and civil partnership
  • pregnancy and maternity
  • race, religion or belief
  • sex and sexual orientation


The school adopts and is committed to meeting Waltham Forest’s equality objectives for 2015-18. These are to:


  • continue to promote and celebrate a cohesive borough ensuring that our community gets on well together
  • promote the opportunities for all members of our community to benefit from local regeneration and growth
  • use greater insight about our community to shape service delivery, including better understanding and managing the impact on protected groups
  • advance the equality of opportunity for all staff, by having a diverse workforce that reflects the community it serves


The framework provides us with a clear strategy for monitoring the progress towards our new equality objectives, and provides us with a baseline from which to measure the direction of travel. A report on progress will be produced by the end of January each year.



Selwyn primary school is operated by Arbor Academy Trust, a charitable company limited by guarantee and registered in England and Wales with company number 10234376. The registered office is at Arbor Academy Trust, Davies Lane primary school, Davies Lane, Leytonstone E11 3DR



Selwyn Primary School

Cavendish Road,

Highams Park,


E4 9NG




School hours

Office Hours

8.30am - 4.30pm



Main Telephone:

020 8527 3814

Fax: 0208 523 3230


Chief Executive - Maureen Okoye

Executive Principal – Jason Cook

Head of School – Lisa Bogle